What wastegate to your on a stock turbo

Pablo

• Member For: 2y 1m 27d

Hey everyone This is my first post, I’m new to turbos and everything that goes with them. I just bought a territory turbo ghia and wanted to do some work to it(valve springs, injectors, high flow cat, front mount later down the track) I was just wondering what waste gate would be best with the stock turbo. Or do they already have one and just buy a actuator or vice versa. 
sorry if this is a dumb question 

• less WHY; more WOT
  • Site Developer
  • Member For: 15y 11m 18d

It has an internal wastegate that'll support your choice in mods. You just buy an actuator if you want a higher minimum boost. Realistically depends on your boost goal if you even need to upgrade it over the stock one, but your tuner will probably thank you for upgrading it :)

• Puff
  • Gold Donating Members
  • Member For: 9y 1m 27d

Garrett 11.8psi actuator is a good one to use with a stock turbo and flapper mod. Turbosmart 12psi actuator is ok too but the porting and preload needs to be spot on to get decent boost control.

You'll need a set of injectors first and preferably a fuel pump upgrade before upgrading the actuator.

• Member For: 3y 3m 15d

The stock actuator is 7 psi I believe. I had one on my F6 310 and was netting 16 psi with the stock cams and then when I went to crow stage 3 forced could only get 14 psi . So I upgraded to turbo smart 12 psi which very well , saw 530 rwhp on 98 on the stock gt3582. Then upgraded to a gen 2 pulser gt3584 with a 15 psi gate . So turbo smart came off as it didn’t fit .