Nolathane Diff Bush Noise Fix?

Guest STEVE_BAXR

Guest STEVE_BAXR
  • Guests

I have just put a new diff bush in and I have to say the noise is bad , so I had to have a look to see why ? there has to be a fix for it.

I am a BMW panel tech and the BIG thing that BMW is good with is no noise in the car . The nuisance noise that occurs in these pillars is related to power train, wind, tire, and road noise. Over the years, various solutions have been used to minimize the energy level of noise that flows from these sources to these pillars. A current approach is to block the path of noise with heat reactive, expandable sealing materials mounted to support plates to create a"baffle". Baffles are strategically located within the body structure in a pattern that helps to eliminate propagation of noise into the vehicle passenger compartment.

The good and bad news is to save money ford don't put any acoustic baffle or sound pads in but to stop the noise but we can.

The big part that makes all the noise in the BA is that the boot floor is like a dum , The nuisance noise come's from the diff into the diff bush then into the body. If you have a look under where the diff bush is there is a metal brace going to a nice matel box, and in the box is air NO EXPANDABLE ACOUSTIC BAFFLE ..... thanks ford .

So in the next week I will be looking more into it and filling the air with expandable sealing foam and adding some sound pads to the boot floor..

Edited by seventytwo
Please continue

• Member For: 16y 9m 27d

Look forward to seeing what you come up with, I too have the polyurethane diff bush, and the noise can be bothersome...Im going to be installing sound deadening underneath the rear seat, to lessen the NVH entering the cabin, from both the diff and fuel pump. Probably do the spare wheel well and boot also.

• Forged Member
  • Lifetime Members
  • Member For: 17y 2m 12d