Jump to content

Recommended Posts

  • Legacy Donating Member
  • Member For: 23y 2m 24d
Posted

I'd say true, however, I have never heard of a single edit box where the initial upload has been corrupted.

  • Member of team Kittens
  • Member
  • Member For: 22y 6m 28d
  • Location: Melbourne
Posted

Gents - my understanding is False - provided the last program flashed from the flasher was the factory map.

Once the flasher has flashed back the factory map, it can be transferred to another vehicle or used again for the same vehicle. When the unit is next used to flash an edited map, the factory map will be uploaded again to effectively lock the flasher to that vehicle VIN until once again the factory map is restored.

If any tuners could confirm, however I am 99% sure that that is correct.

Cheers,

Ben.

  • Member
  • Member For: 21y 2m 19d
  • Location: Newcastle NSW
Posted
Gents - my understanding is False - provided the last program flashed from the flasher was the factory map.

Once the flasher has flashed back the factory map, it can be transferred to another vehicle or used again for the same vehicle.  When the unit is next used to flash an edited map, the factory map will be uploaded again to effectively lock the flasher to that vehicle VIN until once again the factory map is restored.

If any tuners could confirm, however I am 99% sure that that is correct.

Cheers,

Ben.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Can maybe Street Tuner answer this question. As my understanding is once it has been used to flash a vehicle it cannot be used on another vehicle untill it has been sent back to CAPA to be unlocked. I have been told this because once factory tune/VIN has been stored "it" can't changed /overwritten!

Please Street Tuner, what are your thoughts!

  • Legacy Donating Member
  • Member For: 23y 2m 24d
Posted
Gents - my understanding is False - provided the last program flashed from the flasher was the factory map.

Once the flasher has flashed back the factory map, it can be transferred to another vehicle or used again for the same vehicle.  When the unit is next used to flash an edited map, the factory map will be uploaded again to effectively lock the flasher to that vehicle VIN until once again the factory map is restored.

If any tuners could confirm, however I am 99% sure that that is correct.

Cheers,

Ben.

Can maybe Street Tuner answer this question. As my understanding is once it has been used to flash a vehicle it cannot be used on another vehicle untill it has been sent back to CAPA to be unlocked. I have been told this because once factory tune/VIN has been stored "it" can't changed /overwritten!

Please Street Tuner, what are your thoughts!

Once the "F" slot has been filled with an upload, it is locked to that vehicle until cleared. This can be done by an edit tuner with their software, without having to send the unit back to CAPA. :spoton:

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...