Broken Caliper Bolt = Sh*te!

Bulletime

• Donating Members
  • Member For: 13y 3m 10d

Sooo, brake shudder = new rotors and pads right. The story, late 09 (registered 2010) FG XR 6 Turbo, brake shudder, current kms ~54k, shudder since probably 45k kms. Decision: DBA 4000 slotted front, ebc reds all round..

Day of installation...

Busy day so I don't get to it till late... is it a mistake... maybe... we'll see...

Take off front right wheel, no worries.

Start to take of caliper... hmmm this is tough............. ahh the bolt is free..... WTF it broke!!! OMFG!!

post-44009-0-21144200-1342267402_thumb.p

First bolt that broke

so what's happened is both the top bolts on the calliper have broken...

post-44009-0-47075500-1342267760_thumb.j

here

post-44009-0-74689900-1342268015_thumb.j

and here...

What's really odd, for me as a complete novice, is that both the bolts broke at the same length....

post-44009-0-08540300-1342268247_thumb.j

here are the offending bolts

Seems like the bolts might have fused/welded themselves into the callipers.... yay :/

Fun fun... so tomorrow I'll have another go, I'm going to WD-40 the lower calliper bracket bolts, rock them back and forward since earlier they felt pretty stuck.. hopefully that does the trick.

Then once I have the callipers off I have to hope it's easy to get the remainder of the broken bolts out, got some replacements from supercheap (several because I don't know the exact length yet), might have to use the screw extractors I got as well. Hopefully it works out, otherwise I'll have to take the calliper to a brake place and get the bolts drilled out and rethreaded, and then do a full bleed, which I'm hoping I can avoid. Best case scenario is the lower calliper bolts come off no problem and I can get the broken off bolts out easily enough too.

Wish me luck in the morning :s

• Moar Powar Babeh
  • Lifetime Members
  • Member For: 18y 6m 27d