Which model ute to buy BF or FG

Oracle1

• Member For: 7y 5m 1d

Hi all,

thanks in advance for any and all help. I have done a lot of reading in the past few days of various conversion threads trying to find out as much info as possible re the differences between the BF and the FG models. Call me crazy but at 45 I am having a little bit of a mid life crisis and I want a fast ute, again. I've built a few fast cars but of late most of my time has been spent in late model turbo diesels and I haven't bothered to keep up with the models and what part fits what. I have owned and run falcon sixes and eights but not for many years. I have also done some unusual conversions so I have some experience and I can also paint. I am looking around ATM at BF and FG utes and I was hoping to ask the differences between the two and what to watch out for in features with regard to the following criteria.

This is a basic outline of what I want to achieve as the end product,

1. Max price for donor car 12000 before mods and a One Tonner Cab Chassis with alloy tray approx 2005 - 2010.

2. The car will be LPG.

3. Will try and get as much life out of a four speed auto as I can and may even stay with a modified 4 speed auto as a final gear box but would actively seek a six speed conversion if it can be done.

(I know how to nurse machinery my machines die prolonged slow deaths)

4. Would like to turbo it, to take advantage of LPG high octane ratio (liquid) looking for torque and fuel economy (did dedicated LPG engines have higher comp ratios, can ECU be remapped?).

5. Have read the threads about  FG being much nicer to drive than BF but go fast gear being easier to get for the BF. I am getting older and I would like a bit more refinement which is why I would possibly put up with a few more difficulties with converting the FG to go fast gear. BUT does it make any difference in the One Tonners?