Auto Vs Manual Fg F6

Gorillaguy

• Member For: 10y 7m 17d

ok. so I am in the market for a new fg f6 2010 or newer im looking for luxury but also POWER!! :dancing:

I am to achieve about 400 at the wheels, lower it, rims and then keep it basic

ive got a few questions just to ask to help get me up to speed with the FG's so when I go inspecting I can have a better understanding of the car and any hidden tricks.

im fairly handy on the tools im an apprentice diesel fitter so I have a basic to intermediate level of mechanical understanding. and always been around cars like the BA- BF falcons as my old man used to work at ford but other than that im new to the world of fast cars so bare with me. (my current car is a lifted patrol naturally aspirated)

1. auto or manual... why is there so many autos compared to manuals is there a problem with the manuals compared to the autos or the autos better at holding power etc etc

( I want a manual rather than auto but if you can convince me otherwise...)

2. ive done some light reading and seen there is a few pain in the ass problems with the diff bushes or something?

what else is there that you guys are finding problematic no matter how big or small im just after common issues so I can be aware when/if it happens to me

and specific models will help greatly!

so its my first post on this site and im still getting the hang of searching so by all means if there is other threads with this info on it please link me to it to save re-posting.

cheers in advance

• Moderating Team
  • Member For: 21y 2m 25d

Welcome to the forum!

Main reason you'll find is that there are so many auto's is the ZF box, and how good it is. Majority of quick falcons (when I say quick, I mean 400m) will be auto's, there are a handful of quick manual cars, but if you look at the FG top 50, the majority will be ZF auto's.