Fg Turbo Exhaust Rattle

michaelhardy

• Member For: 14y 10m 16d

yeah those rub marks are normal mate - they're already on the beam axles sitting in stillages fresh from futuris.

From the one car I've managed to investigate so far the root cause is not the handbrake cable (I wish it was that simple).

However, more info is generally a good thing, so still hunting. schmick I'll be in touch

I am by no means an engineer, but I have noticed the exhaust moves around a fair bit on these utes from new. What seems to be happening is that at a certain RPM, the viabration/resonance cause by the exhaust has an affect on the handbrake cables.

When the car is cold and has a slightly higher idle, there is no noise. Once its warmed up and idle is around 600rpm, it makes the noise. Seems to be the worst with the AC on.

It goes away if you pull the handbrake up.

Call Strapp Ford in Burwood and ask what they did to my car.

The problem is 100% gone

Cheers

• 3 months later...
  • Replies 46
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Member For: 18y 5m 19d

Decided to put the ute up on the "hoist" at dad's place and have a look at the rattle over the weekend.

bush-hoist.jpg

From what we could tell, looks like there's just enough movement in the plastic grommet things that hold the 2 cables on the bracket for them to rattle when the handbrake isn't pulled. Pull the handbrake and it tightens against the bracket and noise goes away.

I've noticed the noise is mainly when it's warm, idling in D. Guess that once it's warm it idles a little lower, and when it's labouring in D a bit the exhaust is vibrating/resonating at the ideal frequency. As the 2 handbrake cables are clipped onto the centre muffler hanger back further, they shake too and the little plastic grommet things on the sleeve rattle in the bracket.