Jump to content


 

Please Support our site Advertisers. If you would like to Advertise please contact us using our Contact Form.


Welcome to FordXR6Turbo.com

Welcome to Ford XR6 Turbo.com, the Original Community dedicated to the XR6 Turbo. Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information.

Benefits of joining Ford XR6 Turbo.com include:

  • Features such as Photo Gallery, TimeSlips, Blog and the Garage.
  • Monthly Cruises and Events Australia Wide for Enthusiasts
  • Dedicated Technical Forums
  • Sponsor Discussion Forums
  • Member Classifieds
  • Live Chat
Take advantage of it immediately, Register Now or Sign In.
Guest Message by DevFuse
 

Photo
- - - - -

Speedo Not Working And "d" Flashing!


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   XtRmn8

XtRmn8

    570Nm @1800rpm

  • Donating Members
  • 2,554 posts
    • Time Online: 47d 18h 23m 58s
  • Joined 10 Years, 10 Months and 29 Days
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perth, WA

Posted 30 September 2005 - 10:18 AM

Hey guys,

On the way to work this morning about 10km from work I noticed that my speedo was not working and the "D" (for Driver) was flashing. I moved the auto selector over to SSS mode but this made no change the D was still flashing. I could not fell that the car was changing gears, but I got up to speed of about 60km/h and the engine was still below 2000rpm, techo was working. Also I could not set the cruise control and no other warning lights at all.

Got to work, turned the car off, started it back up again and moving the gear selector to D and over to SSS was fine again. Did not flash or anything and no warning lights or anything. Did not have time to drive it because I had to run into the office!

What could it be?? :spit:

Cheers! :Imwifhim:

#2 OFFLINE   Master G

Master G

    Super Member

  • Donating Members
  • 575 posts
    • Time Online: 19m 42s
  • Joined 10 Years, 9 Months and 30 Days
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney NSW

Posted 30 September 2005 - 12:12 PM

The Flashing D is the Auto limp mode signal, I have found it occurs occasionally with mine but that's due to the torque my box is handling. I normally find that turning it on and off resets the issue at least on standard boxes. Your ford dealer should be able to tell you more, well a decent one should be able to.

Regards

M G
RETIRED - SHAHIN - Lightning Strike: Autotech Phase V, Hiro 19's, AWC Body Kit, Brembos, Bilsteins, Nexus Gauges & Engine Blingage! Proudly Tuned by Autotech & Member NSW 10 sec Club!
Coming Soon - 1965 Mustang - Wimbledon White: And the crazy car mod road continues.....

#3 OFFLINE   XtRmn8

XtRmn8

    570Nm @1800rpm

  • Donating Members
  • 2,554 posts
    • Time Online: 47d 18h 23m 58s
  • Joined 10 Years, 10 Months and 29 Days
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perth, WA

Posted 30 September 2005 - 12:34 PM

The Flashing D is the Auto limp mode signal, I have found it occurs occasionally with mine but that's due to the torque my box is handling. I normally find that turning it on and off resets the issue at least on standard boxes. Your ford dealer should be able to tell you more, well a decent one should be able to.

Regards

M G

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Yea hope I can get home ok tonight!!! :blink:

I am going to take it to a dealer in the morning and hopefully they can get some fault codes of it and find out what the problem is!!

:spoton:

#4 OFFLINE   Ninka

Ninka

    Super Member

  • Gold DM
  • 2,154 posts
    • Time Online: 3d 19h 34m 38s
  • Joined 11 Years, 7 Months and 29 Days
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perth, WA

Donator

Posted 30 September 2005 - 01:20 PM

I had this happen when I first started playing with mods :spoton:

Mine locked out some gears, and would not allow me to use the SSS mode either.

I think it does this if some parameters are too far outside expected values, but switching the car off and then back on should clear it.

If it happens often, you may want to get it looked at.
2002 BA XR6 Turbo, ZF 6 Speed Auto, XFT Tuned 371 rwkw, Nizpro Kit, Atomic Rods, Cosworth Pistons, Walbro Fuel Pump, K&N Pod Filter, 4" SMB dump and 5" cat, 2 x 2.5" SS Quad Tip Exhaust, 'Premium' Brakes w. 5000 rotors, Whiteline Anti Roll Bars

#5 OFFLINE   Trough Lolly

Trough Lolly

    Super Member

  • Member
  • 4,946 posts
    • Time Online: 3d 18h 24s
  • Joined 9 Years, 11 Months and 13 Days
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mildura

Posted 08 October 2005 - 03:21 AM

stereo not working and "D" flashing??

PM "jetmir" I think he knows how to fix this. :stirthepot:
Phoons sold!! Welcome the 700nm Triton on 33's!

#6 OFFLINE   xrdreaming

xrdreaming

    Super Member

  • Lifetime Members
  • 1,997 posts
  • Joined 11 Years, 6 Months and 23 Days
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 08 October 2005 - 07:35 AM

While the D is flashing the auto locks itself in 3rd gear
<b><!--coloro:purple--><span style="color:purple"><!--/coloro--><span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>Phantom<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--></span></b> <span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>XR6 Turbo Ute</span>
<b>A real man's toy!!!</b>
<!--coloro:yellow--><span style="color:yellow"><!--/coloro--><b>Hunting Holdens, back in 11 seconds.</b> <!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->

#7 OFFLINE   XtRmn8

XtRmn8

    570Nm @1800rpm

  • Donating Members
  • 2,554 posts
    • Time Online: 47d 18h 23m 58s
  • Joined 10 Years, 10 Months and 29 Days
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perth, WA

Posted 08 October 2005 - 03:50 PM

stereo not working and "D" flashing??

PM "jetmir" I think he knows how to fix this.  :spoton:

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Mate "speedo" not "stereo" :glad: .........give the guy a break! :spoton:

I took the car to a dealer the following morning and they found what the problem was. Reason why it went into limp mode was because I lost my speedo and the reason for that is a loss of signal from the gearbox to the ICC. This was due to moisture in one of the electrical plugs near the gearbox (what they told me). They cleaned it up and reset the error codes and I was on my way. No problem since, they speedo works all the up to :glad: hehehe.

:glad:

#8 OFFLINE   jEtONiT

jEtONiT

    Super Member

  • Donating Members
  • 2,075 posts
    • Time Online: 2d 8h 13m 40s
  • Joined 10 Years, 9 Months and 14 Days
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:next door..

Posted 08 October 2005 - 06:00 PM

stereo not working and "D" flashing??

PM "jetmir" I think he knows how to fix this.  :spoton:

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

:spoton:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users